Herrenhaus (Schloss) Schmuggerow (Schmuggerow House)

The redesign of the estate park began at the same time as the building.

Schmuggerow 25, 17398 Löwitz

The neo-baroque house was commissioned by Maximiliam Count of Schwerin-Putzar in 1865 his daughter Luise on the occasion of her marriage to Rudolph Count of Kanitz. The palatial manor was constructed under the guidance of the architect Paul Otto Bückwald (responsible amongst other things for the Bayreuth Festival Threatre). The alliance coat-of-arms of the von Schwerin and von Kanitz families under the gable stands as a reminder of that.

The well-tended grave of the von Kanitz is located in the graveyard. Some of the former farm buildings have been converted into private residences.

In der Nähe

Herrenhäuser Putzar (Putzar double-mansion)

After 1840 the park was redesigned by Maximilian von Schwerin-Putzar.

Gutshaus Wietstock (Wietstock Hall)

Positive news from the manor house in the quaint, well-kept village.


Museum village Schwichtenberg with foundling garden and narrow-gauge railway